Hello Mentee Here I Am

The responsibility of “mentoring” another individual is a scary thought.  I often find it difficult to take care of myself and answer my own questions, how am I going to “mentor” someone else? Yet here I am, supposed to be the go-to-guy for this college freshman. The LAS program does not have any specific guidelines, just that you mentor a freshman in the freshmen cohort. When it came time to choose, I knew Kyle Jennings was going to be my lucky mentee!

Kyle is from Ortonville, Michigan, a small town in the metro Detroit area; but don’t let that fool you!  Kyle is no small town guy.  He is way cooler than I’ll ever be and try to ride along on his coattails.  He has his own YouTube channel, (make sure you go subscribe) dances, and almost made it on the voice!

I am also lucky enough to not only have Kyle as a mentee, but as one of my brothers in Sigma Alpha Epsilon!  When Kyle told me he was interested in rushing I was ecstatic!  I knew he would be a perfect fit in SAE but I made sure he explored all of his options and always told him to go where he felt like he would fit in the best!  Watching Kyle grow as a brother and a leader in our chapter has been amazing.  After his first semester, he ran for countless positions and is our social media chair.  I could not be more proud of everything he has done throughout this year and look forward to mentoring him on being a mentor

Leave a Reply

